Philosophy of Logic, Math and Physics: Graduate Conference, June 5-6, 2014

PoP 2014

2014: Metaphysics Within and Without Physics

June 7-8, 2014
Dr David S. Chu International Student Centre

The 18th Annual Philosophy of Physics Conference, Metaphysics Within and Without Physics, will take place June 7-8. The conference will bring together scientists and philosophers to address an important question about science and its cognitive aspirations: what is the relation between the scientific image of the world and the various metaphysical theories about its structure and content?

Videos of these conference talks can be found on the Rotman Institute of Philosophy YouTube Channel shortly.



Saturday, June 7th


Stathis Psillos, Western University
Metaphysics of Science: Fact or Framework?

10:50am – Break


Anjan Chakravartty, University of Notre Dame
Realism, Pragmatism, and the Metaphysics of Structure

12:20pm – Lunch


Tim Maudlin, New York University
How Physics Meets Epistemology

3:00pm – Break


Jean Bricmont, Université Catholique de Louvain
What did Bell Really Say? 

4:30pm – Break


Kerry McKenzie, Western University
The Limits of Scientistic Metaphysics

6:00pm – End of Day 1

Sunday, June 8th


Wayne Myrvold, Western University
Are The Laws of Classical Physics Plausibly Humean?

10:50am – Break


Laura Ruetsche, University of Michigan
Naturalistic” Metaphysics and the Interpretation of Quantum Theories 

12:20pm – Lunch


Robert DiSalle, Western University
Overcoming Metaphysics from Within Physics: An Optimistic Induction for Empiricists

3:00pm – Break


Jessica Wilson, University of Toronto
The Emergence of Ordinary Objects

4:30pm – Conference close


This conference is supported by Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC), The Rotman Institute of PhilosophyThe Department of PhilosophyThe Faculty of Arts and Humanities, and Research Western.


Organizing committee: Stathis Psillos (chair), Wayne Myrvold, Kerry McKenzie, and Melissa Jacquart

2018 Keynote Speaker

David Wallace is a philosopher of physics at the Philosophy School of the Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences at the University of Southern California.