Philosophy of Logic, Math and Physics: Graduate Conference, June 5-6, 2014

LMP 2015

Philosophy of Logic, Mathematics, and Physics Graduate Conference

June 4-5, 2015
Stevenson Hall Room 1145

With Keynote Address from Elaine Landry (University of California, Davis), “Plato was NOT a Mathematical Platonist”


Held in conjunction with the Gravity and Geometry: Centenary Perspectives on General Relativity conference (June 6–7, 2015).

LMP 2015 Speakers (left to right): Andrew Tedder, Travis LaCroix, David Schroeren, Andy Yu, Michael Miller, Elaine Landry, John Dougherty, and Lucas Dunlap. Not pictured: Jordan Kroll.
Michael Miller Book Prize
Winner of the 2015 Clifton Memorial Prize: Michael Miller. Awarded by Chair Professor Wayne Myrvold.

June 4, 2015


Travis Lacroix (Simon Fraser University),
“Fractionally Quantified Propositional Logic”


Jordan Kroll (University of Massachusetts, Amherst),
“Defending the Easy Road to Nominalism”



David Schroeren (Princeton University),
“Theoretical Equivalence as Explanatory Equivalence”


Andrew Tedder (University of Connecticut),
“The Ternary Relation and Restrictions on Inconsistent Belief”

Keynote Address: Elaine Landry (University of California, Davis),
“Plato was NOT a Mathematical Platonist” 


End of Day 1

June 5, 2015


Andy Yu (Oxford University),
“Logic for Alethic Pluralists”


John Dougherty (University of California, San Diego),
“What Inductive Explanations Could Not Be”



Michael Miller (University of Pittsburgh),
“The Underdetermination of Field Theoretic Structure”


Lucas Dunlap (University of Maryland),
“The Metaphysics of D-CTCs: On the Underlying Assumptions of Deutsch’s Quantum Solution to the Paradoxes of Time Travel”

Awarding of the Robert K. Clifton Memorial Book Prize

This conference is supported by the The Rotman Institute of Philosophy, The Department of Philosophy, The Faculty of Arts and HumanitiesThe Faculty of Social Sciences, and Oxford University Press for donating the Robert K. Clifton Memorial Book Prize.


Melissa Jacquart (chair), Adam Koberinski, Nathan Moore, Noah Dueck, Jared Richards, Thomas De Saegher, Philippos Papagiannopoulos, Shari Monner, and Yann Benétreau-Dupin.

2017 Keynote Speaker

Doreen Fraser is a professor of philosophy at the University of Waterloo. Her research is largely in the philosophy of quantum field theory, but extends to broader issues such as analogies in physics and the applicability of mathematics.